eSports WTCC Races Tomorrow at Hungaroring

 

After the engines went out in Monza, there was not a lot of time for the drivers of the eSports WTCC to cool down. The second round of the season already takes place this weekend, and the eSports WTCC heads over to the Hungaroring, located northeast of Budapest. The Hungarian round is always a very special occasion, with the local crowd cheering loudly on local hero Norbert Michelisz, who already managed to win two home races. The most successful driver on the track is Yvan Muller though, with four victories.

Maybe Yvan inspired his countrymen, as Frenchman Tanguy Pedrazzoli of Virtual Drivers by TX3 set the fastest time of all drivers with a 1:45.453. But it couldn’t have gotten any closer. He was only one thousandth of a second faster than Juan Manuel Gomez of Factory Assault Team in his Honda Civic. Nikodem Wisniewski, Julian Kunze and Daniel Fredriksson rounded out the top 5.
The big story of the pre-qualifying was the absence of championship leader Tim Heinemann though. The German picked up a small penalty in Monza, but still kept a healthy 5 point lead. But with him not taking part in the Hungarian round, it puts Alexander Dornieden and Mark Nandori in prime position for the championship. They only finished 11th and 16th on the leaderboard though. Everything points towards another action-packed and exciting round, especially now that the grids have been extended to 30 cars.

If you want to follow the action, be sure to turn in on May 7th, at 17:00 GMT (14:00 Sao Paulo, 18:00 London, 19:00 Berlin), with live commentary of the races of division 1 and 2 by James Kirk and Robert Wiesenmüller. You can watch it live on the YouTube channel of the FIA WTCC!

Text and Photos: Officials/Sector3 Studios

 

x

Check Also

iRacing Ford GT 2017 Review

  We made our own Review vídeo about iRacing‘s Ford GT 2017 car. Obviously, whet ...

iRacing 2017 Season 3 Released

  iRacing just released the 2017 Season 3 Build. Along with a new track and ...